Wednesday, March 7, 2007

World Cup Hosters

  • 2007 West Indies
  • 2003 South Africa
  • 1999 England
  • 1996 India/Pakistan/Sri Lanka
  • 1992 Australia/New Zealand
  • 1987 India/Pakistan
  • 1983 England
  • 1979 England
  • 1975 England

West Indies World Cup Venues Map

Image Source

History of World Cup Cricket

The first Cricket World Cup was held in 1975 in England. The first three tournaments were also known as Prudential Cup with the sponsorship of Prudential plc, a financial services company. The cricket matches consisted of 60 overs per team and it was played with traditional white uniform and red balls. There were only day matches and the tournament is held ever four years.

Till the 1992 Cricket World Cup, only 8 teams used to participate in the tournament. Later on, the number of teams increased and in Cricket World Cup 2007, 16 teams will participate. In 1975, England, New Zealand, India, East Africa, Australia, West Indies, Pakistan and Sri Lanka participated and in 1979 Canada replaced East Africa. In 1983, Zimbabwe entered the arena and Canada made the exit. The same teams participated in the 1987 Cricket World Cup. In 1992, South Africa joined the group and that year 9 teams participated in the tournament. By the year1996, the number of groups increased to 12 with the participation of three new teams UAE, Netherlands and Kenya. Bangladesh and Scotland replaced UAE and Netherlands in the 1999 Cricket World Cup. The number of teams in 2003 Cricket World Cup increased to 14 with the participation of Namibia and Canada and the non-participation of Scotland.

Full Article